Young Artists Competition

The Young Artists Competition had been held annually to encourage 
excellence in performance among area high school performers. 
Winners received a cash prize and performed at the Young Artists’ Recital in the Spring. 
Competitions were instrumental, vocal and music theater.

A separate category, The Phyllis Smith Oyer Musicianship Award, recognized the musical ability that demonstrates exceptional potential and promise.  Mrs. Oyer was a long time member of the Greece Choral Society. In remembrance of Mrs. Oyer, this award was presented annually by her family.

The last Young Artist Competition concert was held on Saturday, May 11th, 2013 at the Greece Athena Performing Arts Center.

Many, many thanks for a great competition!

There are currently no plans to continue this program.

Here are the winners from our last competition:

CLASSICAL                                                                                                                     1st – Sable Stewart  (Athena)                                                                                            2nd – Tamaz Mincey  (Athena)                                                                                        Oyer – Giuliana Bozza  (Arcadia)                                                                                       Oyer – Sarah Dearstyne  (Athena)                                                                            Honorable Mention – Sabrina Sapor  (Athena)

MUSICAL THEATRE                                                                                                            1st – Jake Slater  (Arcadia)                                                                                                  2nd – Sophia Scarpulla  (Arcadia)                                                                                      Oyer – Sarah Dearstyne  (Athena)                                                                                    Oyer – Kevin Plintzke  (Arcadia)                                                                                 Honorable Mention – Kaitlyn Garlington  (Athena)                                                          Honorable Mention – Tamaz Mincey  (Athena)

Return to Home Page